Surely Jen Storch

What Are We Looking For OR Let’s Put the Snuggle Back in Autumn

Posted in Picture Takings by Surely Jen Storch on October 5, 2010

Today:

A glorious, beautiful Woman behind a bar speaks to me and holds back tears.  The man she once loved is now fulfilling the dreams they once had together, with another woman.  She says, “I have gotten no where.”  I say loudly, sincerely with alarm, “Do Not say that” both to her and to myself.

An honorable, beautiful Man in a rain coat and two heavy bags of belongings bums three cigarettes and a lighter from me.  Not many words are exchanged but he leaves behind his wife at home.   There is no smart use of quotations for this.

I, able and beautiful, sit in a subway car, shaking from low blood sugar, and longing dearly for certain thing[dude]s from a far past.  I think to myself, “First I need a burger, then I need to write an e-mail.”

These three people above I love.

Leave a comment